SONG PARODY: Sleepless (Apologies to Katy Perry, not that you’ll ever deign to read this. If you do read this, ignore my insults to Fireworks. Or not. Constructive criticism. Great, I’m rambling. This is what happens when I forget to make the title beforehand, and I write it in after I’m done with the post.)


Sleepless (to the tune of Fireworks)

Do you ever feel exhausted

Lying in your bed, wanting to fall asleep?

Do you ever want, want, to dream

While in a fluffy bed, one nod from Morpheus

Do you hear those annoying creeps?

Setting off fireworks, like no one hears a thing

Now there’s definitely no chance for you

to get a good night’s sleep!

You can’t ignore the lights and booming sounds

Gahh! It’s not even the Fourth of July!!

Cause, baby, they’re inconsiderate!

So loud, blasting all through the night!

Zzzzzz…..BOOM! CRACK! POP!

As you strangle your pillow!

You don’t have to lose your sleep

Now the government has passed a law

If only they didn’t add a technical loophole

So, as I write this, things explode.

Maybe they’re the reason for this mess

Celebration is more fun than judicial review

No, that’s just a sleep-deprived thought

You just gotta buy some ear plugs

And let the radio blast and blare

Cause, baby, you’re sleepless!

Come on, make the noise cease….

Curse those sounds- BOOM! CRACK! POW!

You’re going to have bags under your eyes

Boom, boom, boom

Even louder than landing on the moon

It’s never going to stop, stop, stop

Maybe you should whack your neighbors with a mop, mop, mop

Baby, you’re sleepless

Come on, I just want to rest

Ugh, my brain…BOOM! CRACK! SPARKLE!

You’re going to be late for the parades

Boom, boom, boom

Even louder than landing on the moon, moon, moon…

Boom, boom, boom

Even louder than landing on the (Yawn) moon, moon, moon…..Zzzz……..BOOOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

_______________________________________________________________________________

Well, that was my newest song parody. Trust me, they are much better in my head. As I’m doing this, fireworks really are bursting. It was even worse last year. What I wrote in the song was true. A law was passed, but it’s not stopping them now. Still, I can’t use a mop as a weapon. A thought just occurred to me. It would be much better if I had the time and resources to somehow make a music video (and collaborate with people who actually know how to write song parodies- self-deprecation, yay), but I can’t. Anyway, it’s 10:01, fireworks are going off, and this badly written song parody has helped me vent, but only slightly. This picture pretty much shows how I feel right now.

Oh, cool! It’s one of those gif things! I’ve never put one of those into my blog before. For Miscellaneous Soup, I’m Zachary Krishef. Have an excellent day, and get some sleep. You’re going to have a busy day tomorrow, setting off more fireworks, eating hot dogs, going to parades, and just maybe seeing some of the delightful movies that came out yesterday. (I really want to see Despicable Me 2.) Goodnight. Oh, PLEASE, let those fireworks stop!! PLEASE!! Wait…EPIPHANY!! I can just do what Mom does, and turn on the fan!!! Be right back. I’m back. That actually drowns it out. Note to self: Find radio. ¬†Why am I typing out all of my thoughts?? I already gave my ending phrase! Okay, I’ll do it again.

For Miscellaneous Soup, I’m Zachary Krishef. Have an excellent day/night/evening/morning, and- Wow, that gif is annoying! I’m writing this, and I keep seeing flashes of Squidward looking anguished. I’m seriously not interrupting myself on purpose. I’m slightly bored, and I want to talk to somebody.

So……how are you doing, Miscellaneous Soup readers? Seen any good movies? Read any good books? Watched any interesting shows? Anyone? Anyone? I should just see if anyone is on that great procrastinator of minds, Facebook. Or maybe I shouldn’t. I could just finish up those stories that I’ve been meaning to post. Am I really in the mood right now? Is my subconscious blocking them? Am I just randomly typing until the Squidward picture is gone from my view? Yes.

Approximately two more lines….It is now 10:09. One hour and two minutes, and I can make a wish. Here’s something I would wish for. THE FIREWORKS TO END!!! Sorry for yelling. I really should separate all of this into paragraphs. That’s better. You didn’t see it, but I separated my word-vomiting. You know, this is unedited Zachary-ness. Stream of consciousness things. Readers, why do you read and/or subscribe to my blog? I know why two people did, three if you count me (Yes, I subscribed to my own blog.): You’re my family. Blogs that I subscribed to: Did you subscribe to me purely because I subscribed to you? I’m just curious about why people actually read this.

Hey, look at that! When I separated the paragraphs, it blocked my view of Squidward! Okay, I’m done. For Miscellaneous Soup, I’m Zachary Krishef. Have an excellent whatever time of day it is right now, or when you’re reading this, or- WOW, that was a loud firework! Have an excellent whatever time of day it is right now, or when you’re reading this, or Fourth of July, or weekend, or, again, whatever time it is when you’re reading this. I’m going to bed, if the fireworks let me. Curse you, you colorful, cheerful fiends! I wonder how my pet dog is reacting to this. Poor wittle baby dog.

2 thoughts on “SONG PARODY: Sleepless (Apologies to Katy Perry, not that you’ll ever deign to read this. If you do read this, ignore my insults to Fireworks. Or not. Constructive criticism. Great, I’m rambling. This is what happens when I forget to make the title beforehand, and I write it in after I’m done with the post.)

  1. It is now legal to set off Fireworks on the 3rd, 4th, and 5th of July, better than last year when they started every night in June all the way through August! Sleep well!

Leave a Reply

