Political Song Parody: Elect Me Maybe (Sung to the tune of Call Me Maybe)


I put my mark on the ballot

Making history on a palette

No more political ads

Enough with crazy political fads

 

It’s excellent to know

That there’s no more hot air to blow

Finally I can relax

And just hear the facts

 

No listening to the Colbert Report

The Daily Show will misreport

Goodbye, Larry King

And then the phone rings

 

Hello, this is Mitt Romney

Please don’t hang up on me

I just have a simple plea

‘Elect me maybe?’

 

It’s hard to think straight

I’m getting irate

And then Barack Obama calls

‘Elect me maybe?’

 

Health care, lowered taxes, oil

Irritating like a boil

Now I get called again

Silently, I curse these women and men

 

Sarah Palin, Pat Boone, Clint Eastwood

All this stress isn’t good

Soon enough I’ll go insane

With politics on the brain

 

So many choices to make

What if I make a mistake?

Third party, Democratic, Republican

They’re all saying ‘Elect me maybe.’

 

My venting is nearly done

I hope I don’t offend someone

Goodnight and happy voting!

Okay, phone calls. Stop toting.

2 thoughts on “Political Song Parody: Elect Me Maybe (Sung to the tune of Call Me Maybe)

Leave a Reply

