MOVIE REVIEW: “The Campaign”


Preliminary Thoughts:

Okay, this movie is my first R-rated movie. I’m a little nervous.

Plot/Concept:

Okay. The basic concept is simple. Two corrupt federal employees don’t like the current North Carolina congressman, Cam, so they attempt to oust him with a dark horse, Marty. It’s a pretty interesting concept for a movie, partially because I am very interested in the political system. I also enjoyed the use of political satire.  Some plot points near the end that some people would call predictable, I did not see coming at all.

Humor:

You can find raunchy humor. You can find swearing humor. Clever jokes, low-brow jokes. Racist jokes, interesting jokes. Some of the humor in this movie actually made me laugh, while other portions disturbed and annoyed me.

Appropriateness:

This is rated R, and for good reason. Swearing. Dirtiness. Racist-ness.

Casting:

The actors did a good job. I truly believed that Will Ferrell, Zach Galifanakis (Did I spell that correctly?), Jason  Sudeikis, and all of the actors were excellent.

Music:

One particular song is not appropriate. Still, the soundtrack, especially over the end credits, actually sounds interesting. I especially liked the use of the Archie’s song “Sugar, Sugar” to represent the innocence in Marty’s life.

Sum Up: 

This movie has some surprisingly heartfelt messages and morals. Like I said above, I did not see that coming from a crude movie. I would not see The Campaign again, but I liked approximately 46% of it. For Miscellaneous Soup, I’m Zachary Krishef. Have an excellent day!

Leave a Reply

