The Book Bag (#2): The Fault In Our Stars


Welcome to The Book Bag, and, today, we’re reaching all the way to the bottom! See the title? It’s shameless click bait! Well, not really. I couldn’t decide what to do for my second review. There’s so many books that I love to read! Still, the movie came out recently, so this seems appropriate.

I have a story. When I first read The Fault In Our Stars, I had no idea who John Green was. I randomly picked it up during the summer or early fall, if I’m remembering it correctly. Now, I had been watching the Vlogbrothers’ videos for some time. I didn’t connect the John Green in the videos with the author until I saw one where he explicitly mentioned being an author. I frantically scrambled to find all of his books. A couple of weeks ago, my sister graciously lent me her friend’s copy of the book and I finally reread it.

 

For those of you who don’t know, The Fault In Our Stars is, essentially, a teen romance novel. The twist comes from the two main characters having cancer. I highly enjoyed the book. It is very sad, and very well-written. I could see the main characters being real people. None of the events seemed contrived or unrealistic, as far as I could tell. Well, besides the artistic license with the medicine, that is.

 

It is an amusing book, like a lot of John Green books. It made me laugh at some jokes that, in any other show or book, might have made me cringe. I can’t think of a lot of things to say about The Fault In Our Stars. I would give it an eight out of ten, perhaps. It’s not my favorite book but it’s pretty darn good. I am planning on seeing the film. I’m Zachary Krishef, and I hope that you have an excellent day!

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

Visit me at http://www.miscellaneoussoup.wordpress.com! My reviews are also posted there!

Ask me questions on TV Tropes, my blog, or here! My troper handle is MiscellaneousSoup.

Next Time: Grr, agh! A zombie love story is next on the metaphorical chopping block! You say it can’t be done? Maybe you’re right and maybe you’re wrong. Prepare for Jeff Hart’s Eat, Brains, Love!

Leave a Reply

