The Book Bag (#7): Lorien Legacies Overview


Hello and welcome to The Book Bag! Today, we’re reaching all the way to the bottom! I love it when authors deliberately try to make it seem as though their stories could be entirely real. My first encounter with this was the Harry Potter series, all the way back in first grade. In the books, Muggles (or “non-magical beings”) encounter magic, their minds are wiped. So, the books could be real and we’ve just been mind-wiped! For all I know, I met Harry Potter at the library yesterday! The point is, I know that the books are not real but it’s fun to imagine that they are. The Lorien Legacies series takes it one step further by naming the author as Pittacus Lore, an ancient Lorien who is hiding out on Earth…possibly. In reality, Jobie Hughes and James Fray collaborated to create the series. Now, what is it?

 

The Lorics are an ancient alien race. However, an evil race of aliens known as the Mogadorians attack their planet. Only nine Loric babies and their Cepans (captains/mentors) are sent with them. The Cepans will train them to use their powers (also known as Legacies) to defeat the Mogadorians, who are hunting them. If they succeed in slaying them all, they will conquer the Earth. The various titles of the books (I Am Number Four, The Power Of Six, The Rise Of Nine, etc.) come from the Loric teenagers themselves. They were referred to only as their number. On Earth, they move from town to town when potential Mogadorians arrive, changing their identities. Finally, the Lorics can only be killed in numerical order. Once one of them dies, the others have a horrific scar burned onto their ankle as an involuntary warning signal. Three have already died. Number Four is the protagonist.

 

I have to be honest. The series has some issues, primarily in the first three books. The exposition can be very clunky at times, especially when referring to the various Legacies. Additionally, I don’t mind love triangles, but I get annoyed when they seem shoehorned in or forced. The early ones seem forced. Fortunately, it gets better by the fourth book.

 

And now, the positives. I love this series. I was getting slightly bored by the third book, but it really picked up by the fourth. I enjoy the plot twists and the characters. I don’t have a lot to say that wouldn’t ruin the series, unfortunately. You see, some of the subplots and side characters have their plots explained or announced in ebooks. This made it very confusing for me when I randomly saw a new villain appearing, seemingly with no introduction. Fortunately, they are being released as companion books. If that doesn’t work, I recommend reading the descriptions on Wikipedia or a different website. It’s not the same, but it might be convenient for those who do not possess Kindles, Nooks, or other inventions of that nature.

 

I’m Zachary Krishef. Have an excellent day!

 

The Lorien Legacies by “Pittacus Lore”

 

Reviewed by Zachary Krishef

 

Ask me questions on TV Tropes, my blog, or here! My troper handle is MiscellaneousSoup.


Next Time: I’ll review a children’s book with suicide, murder, swearing, and cannibalism. This should be delightful! (Spoilers: It is.)

Leave a Reply

