‘Ms. Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children’ Trailer Review


I watched the trailer and had some thoughts. Might as well write them down, right?

Firstly, the trailer is definitely unsettling. From the haunting music to the uncanny reproductions of the more fanciful parts of the book, it definitely paints a creepy portrait. Tim Burton is the perfect choice to direct this movie, given his previous successes involving misfits with strange powers. I doubt that we’ll be seeing Edward Scissorhands nosh with the creepy twins with masks, but you never know.

Screenshot-2016-03-15_10.14.21

Seriously, it’s like Tweedledee and Tweedledum fused with the Scarecrow. Eughhhhh.

Next, as I usually do, I have some doubts on the translation from page to screen. There is one scene that I definitely remember from the book that is reproduced to a T in the trailer. It’s the scene with the girl who eats with a mouth on the back of her head. I’m not taking a screencap of it because I’m going to get enough nightmares from the twins. However, I have no recollection of the entire underwater scene.

Screenshot-2016-03-15_10.20.06.png

It’s entirely possible that I just can’t remember it happening in the book, so just tell me in the comments if I’ve made a mistake. I haven’t read the book in a few months. Next, and this is a nitpick, we don’t see any of his grandfather’s photos. Maybe that’s being saved for the next trailer, but it makes me slightly worried. Oh, well. As I said, it’s a nitpick. Finally, according to this article from The Mary Sue, they switched around Olive and Emma, two of the characters. Will this lead to an adaptational disaster or the greatest Avatar: The Last Airbender film ever made? YOU decide!

 

For my final thought on the trailer, GAHHHH!!!!!

Screenshot-2016-03-15_13.29.50.png

That is a ‘wight’, one of the creatures meant to destroy ‘peculiars’, otherwise known as the gifted children. I hate squid/octopi and it looks like it has a tentacle. I’m terrified.

 

Overall, I’m interested, but I think I’ll check it out at the library. Unless I’m seeing it with a big group of people (unlikely, given my introverted personality), I’ll just read the reviews and wait for the DVD. Still, you never know. I did go see Deadpool with a group of people and I had a fabulous time. Then again, I was really excited for Deadpool and I wanted to see it in theaters, no matter what. This comparison has gotten completely off-track, so I’m going to sign off. Good afternoon, friends!

Leave a Reply

